Skip to content
Spanish sworn translationshello@juranza.com
Juranza, Official Spanish sworn translations

The medical certificate for a Spanish visa: wording, age and translation

Updated · Official sources checked

Every consulate asks for a doctor’s statement that you do not suffer from any disease that could have serious public health repercussions under the International Health Regulations of 2005, and most want it issued no more than three months before you apply. What differs is the language: Boston, Chicago and Houston ask for a bilingual certificate, Los Angeles needs no translation on its own model, and London, Edinburgh and Manchester ask for a translation and an apostille.

Key facts

What it states

No disease with serious public health repercussions under the IHR 2005

Maximum age

3 months at most consulates; 90 days at Los Angeles

UK consulates

Translation and apostille; London and Manchester take UK or Spanish certificates only

Juranza, one-page medical certificate

€59, VAT included

What each consulate asks for

The medical certificate on each consulate’s non-lucrative visa page or checklist, read on 9 October 2026.
ConsulateWhat it asks forMax. ageLanguageApostilleSource
LondonFrom a registered medical practitioner, in the wording the checklist sets; issued in the UK or Spain only3 monthsSworn translation if not in SpanishYes, except official EU documentsOfficial page
EdinburghSigned and stamped by a registered doctor, stating the exact wording below3 monthsOfficial translation, unless issued in SpainYes, unless issued in SpainOfficial page
ManchesterFrom a registered medical practitioner, in the wording the checklist sets; issued in the UK or Spain only3 monthsSworn translationYes, except official EU documentsOfficial page
BostonBilingual, on the doctor’s or medical centre’s letterhead, with the doctor’s stamp and signature3 monthsBilingual: in Spanish or translatedNot statedOfficial page
ChicagoBilingual, completed by the examining physician, stamped or on letterhead; template recommended3 monthsBilingualNot statedOfficial page
HoustonBilingual, signed by a doctor, stamped or on letterhead; template recommended3 monthsBilingualNot statedOfficial page
Los AngelesSigned, with a doctor’s stamp or letterhead; the consulate publishes a model90 daysSpanish translation if in English; none on the modelNot statedOfficial page
MiamiIn the wording the consulate sets, on letterhead, signed and stamped; the page links a bilingual model3 monthsTranslated by a sworn or certified translatorNot statedOfficial page
New YorkA statement in the IHR 2005 termsNot statedOfficial translationNot statedOfficial page
San FranciscoSigned by a medical doctor, with name, licence number and contact details, stamped or on letterhead; template recommended3 monthsOfficial translation if only in EnglishNot statedOfficial page
OttawaFrom your family doctor, in the wording the page sets; for stays over 180 daysNot statedOfficial translation where applicableLegalised or apostilledOfficial page
SydneyA statement in the IHR 2005 termsNot statedOfficial translation where applicableLegalised or apostilledOfficial page
The medical certificate on each consulate’s non-lucrative visa page or checklist, read on 9 October 2026. “Not stated” means the page does not say.

The wording consulates set

Wording quoted from each consulate’s page or checklist. Edinburgh asks for its wording literally; London and Manchester accept their terms “or similarly”.
ConsulateThe certificate statesSource
London, issued in the UK“This health certificate states that Mr./Mrs. (…) does not suffer from any of the diseases that may have serious public health repercussions in accordance with what is stipulated by the International Health Regulations of 2005”Checklist
London, issued in Spain“Este certificado médico acredita que el Sr./Sra. (…) no padece ninguna de las enfermedades que pueden tener repercusiones para la salud pública graves, de conformidad con lo dispuesto en el reglamento sanitario internacional de 2005”Checklist
Manchester, issued in the UK“This health certificate states that Mr./Mrs. (…) does not suffer from any of the diseases that may have serious public health repercussions in accordance with what is stipulated by the International Health Regulations of 2005”Checklist
EdinburghThat you “does not suffer from any illness which represents a risk or a danger to the public according to the International Health Regulations of 2005”Official page
Miami“This medical certificate certifies that Mr. / Ms. (...) Does not suffer from any diseases that may have serious implications for public health in accordance with the provisions of the International Health Regulations 2005”Official page
Ottawa“This medical certificate states that Mr./Mrs. ….. does not suffer from any diseases that may have serious consequences on public health in accordance with the provisions contained in the 2005 International Health Regulations.”Official page
Wording quoted from each consulate’s page or checklist. Edinburgh asks for its wording literally; London and Manchester accept their terms “or similarly”.

Timing and order

  • Get it last: most consulates want it no more than three months old when you apply, and Los Angeles no more than 90 days.
  • From the UK, Edinburgh’s checklist says to legalise first and translate afterwards, so the apostille and the translation both have to fit inside those three months.
  • London and Manchester accept certificates issued only in the UK or Spain. London’s checklist adds that any accredited public or private medical centre there will do, and that the consulate gives no information about medical centres.
  • Edinburgh does not provide or require a template; Chicago, Houston and San Francisco recommend theirs, and Los Angeles and Miami publish one.

Questions

Juranza is a translation service, not a law firm, and nothing here is legal advice. Requirements published by Spanish consulates and immigration offices change without notice — always check your own consulate before submitting.

What should a medical certificate for a Spanish visa say?

That you do not suffer from any disease that could have serious public health repercussions under the International Health Regulations of 2005. London, Manchester, Edinburgh, Miami and Ottawa set their own wording: Edinburgh asks for it literally, while London and Manchester accept the same terms “or similarly”.

How old can the medical certificate be?

No more than three months at London, Edinburgh, Manchester, Boston, Chicago, Houston, Miami and San Francisco, and 90 days at Los Angeles. New York, Ottawa and Sydney do not say.

Does the medical certificate need an apostille?

From the UK, yes: London, Edinburgh and Manchester ask for one, Edinburgh unless the certificate was issued in Spain. Ottawa and Sydney ask for foreign documents to be legalised or apostilled under that item. The US consulate pages do not mention one.

Does the medical certificate need a sworn translation?

In the UK, London and Manchester ask for a sworn translation and Edinburgh for an official one. In the US, Boston, Chicago and Houston ask for a bilingual certificate, Los Angeles needs none on its model, Miami asks for a sworn or certified translator, New York for an official translation, and San Francisco for one if the certificate is only in English.

See your total before you pay

Upload your documents and we show what needs a sworn translation, what does not, and the price with VAT included.

Get a quote