Skip to content
Spanish sworn translationshello@juranza.com
Juranza, Official Spanish sworn translations

Spain non-lucrative visa: which documents to translate, consulate by consulate

Updated · Official sources checked

Every consulate asks for the criminal record certificate to be translated into Spanish, but they differ on the rest and on who may translate. London, Edinburgh and Manchester ask for a sworn translator; most US consulates name a certified one. Boston says bank statements and IRS returns need no translation, and Boston, Chicago and Houston ask for a bilingual medical certificate, with Miami linking a bilingual model.

Key facts

Criminal record, US

FBI check only, no older than 6 months, apostilled

Criminal record, UK

ACRO certificate, no older than 6 months, apostilled

Medical certificate

Usually no older than 3 months

Boston

Bank statements and IRS returns need no translation

What each consulate asks for

Non-lucrative visa requirements on each consulate’s own page or checklist, read on 9 October 2026.
ConsulateCriminal recordMedical certificateFinancial documentsWho may translateSource
LondonEvery country lived in for 5 years, ACRO for the UK; max. 6 months; apostilleUK or Spain only; max. 3 months; apostille and sworn translationOriginal, stamped documents; translation not statedSworn, registered in SpainOfficial page
EdinburghACRO only, not Disclosure Scotland; max. 6 months; apostilleMax. 3 months; apostille and official translation, unless issued in Spain12 months of bank statements, if used; official translation where applicableRegistered sworn translatorOfficial page
ManchesterEvery country lived in for 5 years; full ACRO certificate, with a letter on any “No Live Trace” entries; max. 6 months; apostilleUK or Spain only; max. 3 months; apostille and sworn translation1 year of bank statements, stamped by the bank; translation not statedSworn translatorOfficial page
BostonFBI only; max. 6 months; apostilleBilingual, in Spanish or translated; max. 3 monthsBank statements (3 months) and IRS returns (3 years): no translationSworn or certified; links to the ATAOfficial page
ChicagoFBI only; max. 6 months; federal apostilleBilingual; max. 3 monthsOriginal, stamped documents; translation not statedCertified translatorOfficial page
HoustonFBI only; max. 6 months; federal apostilleBilingual; max. 3 months12 months of statements (5 for retirees) and a 31 December balance; translation not statedCertified; links to the ATAOfficial page
Los AngelesFBI only; max. 6 months; federal apostilleTranslation if only in English, unless on the consulate’s model; max. 90 daysOfficial translation where applicableCertified translatorOfficial page
MiamiFBI only, fingerprint-based; max. 6 months; apostilleConsulate’s bilingual model, or a sworn or certified translation; max. 3 monthsOfficial translation where applicableSworn or certified; links to the ATAOfficial page
New YorkFBI only; max. 6 months; legalised or apostilledOfficial translation; age not statedOriginal documents; translation not stated“Official translation”, type not namedOfficial page
San FranciscoFBI only, fingerprint-based; max. 6 months; federal apostilleTranslation if only in English; max. 3 monthsLegalised or apostilled, with an official translation“Official translation”; links to the sworn registerOfficial page
OttawaRCMP fingerprint check only; max. 6 months; apostille from Global Affairs CanadaSet wording; official translation where applicable; age not statedOriginals and copies; translation not statedSworn or certified; links to ATIOOfficial page
SydneyEvery country lived in for 5 years; legalised or apostilled; age not statedOfficial translation where applicable; age not statedOfficial translation where applicableOfficial translation; links to NAATIOfficial page
Non-lucrative visa requirements on each consulate’s own page or checklist, read on 9 October 2026. “Not stated” means the page does not say. “Where applicable” is the consulates’ own wording. Check your consulate’s page before ordering anything: they change without notice.

What that means for you

  • Applying from the UK: London, Edinburgh and Manchester want a sworn translator, and the apostille goes on before the translation.
  • Applying at a US consulate: most name a certified translator for the visa itself. Only a sworn translation is also official once you file anything with an office in Spain.
  • Ask before translating financial documents: Boston says bank statements and tax returns need none, and London, Manchester, Chicago, Houston, New York and Ottawa do not say.
  • Mind the clocks: criminal records no older than six months everywhere that states it, the medical certificate usually no older than three months.

Questions

Juranza is a translation service, not a law firm, and nothing here is legal advice. Requirements published by Spanish consulates and immigration offices change without notice — always check your own consulate before submitting.

Which documents need a sworn translation for the Spain non-lucrative visa?

It depends on the consulate. Typically the criminal record certificate, the medical certificate if it is not bilingual or in Spanish, and family certificates. London, Edinburgh and Manchester ask for a sworn translator; most US consulates name a certified one.

Do bank statements need to be translated for the non-lucrative visa?

Boston states they do not, nor do IRS tax returns. San Francisco asks for an official translation of foreign financial documents; Edinburgh, Los Angeles, Miami and Sydney give only a general “where applicable” rule, and the others do not say. Ask yours before paying for a translation.

How recent must the FBI check be?

US consulates ask for an FBI check issued no more than six months before you apply, with an apostille. State and local police checks are not accepted, and Chicago, Houston and Los Angeles also reject state apostilles.

See your total before you pay

Upload your documents and we show what needs a sworn translation, what does not, and the price with VAT included.

Get a quote