Skip to content
Spanish sworn translationshello@juranza.com
Juranza, Official Spanish sworn translations

Do bank statements need a sworn translation for a Spanish visa?

Updated · Official sources checked

It depends on where you apply. Boston says bank statements and IRS tax returns need no translation; San Francisco asks for an official translation of foreign financial documents; the other consulates give only a general “where applicable” rule or say nothing. A bank statement never takes an apostille, because it is a private document. For a digital nomad application filed in Spain, the UGE-CE asks for a stamped bank certificate and allows a simple translation only for the CV.

Key facts

Boston

Bank statements and IRS returns need no translation

San Francisco

Official translation of foreign financial documents

Apostille on a bank statement

No: it is a private document

Digital nomad visa filed in Spain

Stamped bank certificate, translated by a sworn translator

What each consulate says

What each consulate’s non-lucrative visa page or checklist says about financial documents and their translation, read on 9 October 2026.
ConsulateWhat it asks forTranslationSource
BostonBank statements for the last 3 months from all accounts; the last 3 years of IRS returns if you are not retiredNot needed: “no need to be translated into Spanish”Official page
San FranciscoStatements for the last 3 months from all accounts, with the transactions rather than a summary; the last 3 years of IRS returns if you are not retiredYes: “Foreign documents must be translated via an official translation into Spanish”Official page
Los AngelesOriginal documents stamped by the issuer; statements for the last 3 months and the last tax returnOfficial translation “where applicable”Official page
MiamiOriginals and copies of the documents proving your meansOfficial translation “where applicable”Official page
ChicagoOriginal, stamped documents naming the bank and identifying the accountsNot statedOfficial page
HoustonStatements for the last 12 months, all pages (5 months for retirees), and a bank certificate with the 31 December and average balancesNot statedOfficial page
New YorkOriginal documents naming the bank and identifying the accountsNot statedOfficial page
LondonOriginal, stamped documents proving income or assetsNot statedOfficial page
Edinburgh12 months of statements, if you prove your means with themOfficial translation “where applicable”Official page
Manchester1 year of detailed statements, stamped by the bankNot statedOfficial page
OttawaOriginals and copies of the documents proving your meansNot statedOfficial page
SydneyOriginals and copies of the documents proving your meansOfficial translation “where applicable”Official page
What each consulate’s non-lucrative visa page or checklist says about financial documents and their translation, read on 9 October 2026. “Not stated” means the page says nothing about translating financial documents. “Where applicable” is the consulates’ own wording; none of them says when it applies.

The digital nomad visa

Filed in Spain, the application goes to the UGE-CE. It asks for payslips or invoices for the three months before you apply, and a bank certificate in your name, stamped or signed by the bank, for the same three months, with the payments that match them marked. If that income is below the minimum, a bank certificate of savings covers the difference.

Its instructions ask for public documents not written in Spanish to come with a translation by a sworn translator appointed by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and say that for the rest of the file a sworn translation is enough. The only document they allow a simple translation for is the CV, so a bank certificate, payslips or invoices not in Spanish go to a sworn translator.

At a consulate, the consulate’s own rules apply. Washington DC’s telework visa page lists the financial documents without saying whether they need translating.

No apostille on a bank statement

A bank statement is a private document

The Apostille Convention applies to public documents: those from a court, administrative documents, notarial acts and official certificates placed on private documents. A bank statement is none of these. If an office asks for a notarised copy, the apostille goes on the notary’s certificate, not on the statement.

Before you pay for a translation

  • Read your own consulate’s page. A translation Boston says it does not need is money spent for nothing.
  • Where the page says nothing, or only “where applicable”, ask the consulate or its visa centre before translating months of statements.
  • Keep the originals as the bank issued them: Chicago, Los Angeles, London and Manchester ask for stamped documents.
  • If you do translate, a sworn translation is an official translation under Spanish law (Real Decreto 724/2020, art. 17), so it also serves later at offices in Spain.

Questions

Juranza is a translation service, not a law firm, and nothing here is legal advice. Requirements published by Spanish consulates and immigration offices change without notice — always check your own consulate before submitting.

Do I need to translate bank statements for the Spain non-lucrative visa?

It depends on the consulate. Boston says no; San Francisco asks for an official translation of foreign financial documents; Edinburgh, Los Angeles, Miami and Sydney give a general “where applicable” rule; London, Manchester, Chicago, Houston, New York and Ottawa do not say. Ask yours before translating months of statements.

Does a bank statement need an apostille for Spain?

No. The Apostille Convention covers public documents, and a bank statement is a private one. If an office asks for a notarised copy, the apostille goes on the notary’s certificate.

Do I need to translate my P45 for the non-lucrative visa?

Edinburgh asks for an updated P45 if you recently stopped working, and its page does not say whether it must be translated. The London and Manchester checklists do not ask for a P45.

Do bank statements need a sworn translation for the digital nomad visa?

Filed in Spain, the UGE-CE asks for a stamped bank certificate, and its instructions allow a simple translation only for the CV, so a certificate not in Spanish goes to a sworn translator. At a consulate, check its page: Washington DC’s does not say.

See your total before you pay

Upload your documents and we show what needs a sworn translation, what does not, and the price with VAT included.

Get a quote