Spanish embassy in Ottawa: translation requirements
Updated · Official sources checked
Short answer
A sworn translator appointed by Spain, or a local certified translator such as those listed by the Association of Translators and Interpreters of Ontario. Only the sworn translation also works later at offices in Spain.
Who may translate
Sworn or certified; links to ATIO
Local certified translator accepted?
Yes
Criminal record
RCMP fingerprint check only; max. 6 months; apostille from Global Affairs Canada
Medical certificate
Set wording; official translation where applicable; age not stated
What the Ottawa embassy asks for
| Topic | What it says | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Translations | “Sworn/certified translator”, with a link to the Ontario translators’ association (ATIO) | Official page |
| Criminal record | RCMP fingerprint check only; max. 6 months; apostille from Global Affairs Canada | Official page |
| Medical certificate | Set wording; official translation where applicable; age not stated | Official page |
| Financial documents | Originals and copies; translation not stated | Official page |
| Who may translate | Sworn or certified; links to ATIO | Official page |
The medical certificate
Ottawa’s page asks, under the medical certificate, for foreign documents to be legalised or apostilled, and officially translated where applicable.
Before you order
- Apostille first, then the sworn translation, so the translation covers the apostilled document.
- Mind the clocks: criminal records no older than six months everywhere that states it, the medical certificate usually no older than three months.
Criminal record certificates
We are not taking criminal record certificates yet. Any sworn translator on the Ministry’s register can do it.
Questions
Juranza is a translation service, not a law firm, and nothing here is legal advice. Requirements published by Spanish consulates and immigration offices change without notice — always check your own consulate before submitting.
Does the Spanish embassy in Ottawa accept a certified translation?
Yes. It accepts a local certified translator, such as those listed by the Association of Translators and Interpreters of Ontario, as well as a sworn translator appointed by Spain. Only the sworn translation also works later at offices in Spain.
Which criminal record certificate does the embassy in Ottawa ask for?
Its non-lucrative visa page says: RCMP fingerprint check only; max. 6 months; apostille from Global Affairs Canada.